Dairy Free Pizza – My Favorite Cheese Alternative

">

3 thoughts on “Dairy Free Pizza – My Favorite Cheese Alternative”

  1. I love you so much! Your blog tickles me pink and makes me giggle. I’m so proud of you! Great work!

  2. The product you recommend cannot be eaten by anyone with a true dairy ALLERGY as it contains Casein (Milk Protein. Lactose intolerance is not a true allergy.

    I would recommend the product Daiya which melts, tastes close to cheese (cheddar, mozzarella)and is made of Filtered water, tapioca and/or arrowroot flours, oil, pea protein, salt, inactive yeast, vegan natural flavours, vegetable glycerin, xanthan gum, citric acid (for flavor), annatto.

    The dairy-free pie created for your restaurant should not contain any casein or whey proteins. Vegans would not want these either. Hope this is helpful.

    1. You are partially correct: vegans would not appreciate the casein found within this cheese. Dairy allergies, however, can either be triggered by casein or whey, so it is incorrect that this cheese could not be eaten by ANYONE with a “true” dairy allergy. I ended up having a similar conversation on another pizza blog back in 2009 when this article was written, but I’m happy that you’ve brought subject up here as well! Vegans beware – this cheese is not for anyone who is strictly observing. Also, people who are either allergic or intolerant of casein will want to steer clear of this cheese as well. However, if your allergies/intolerance is triggered more by whey, this should be an acceptable alternative for you.

      Thanks again for the comment
      -Ryan

Comments are closed.